Big changes in Team India, Rohit becomes vice-captain, Natarajan replaces injured Umesh


The four-Test series between India and Australia is currently at 1–1. The third match of the series will be played in Sydney from 7 January.

India vs Australia Third Test Updates

India has made major changes in the team for the third Test match against Australia. On Friday, BCCI tweeted that fast bowler T Natarajan has been included in the team in place of injured Umesh Yadav.

Natarajan was part of the team in Australia as a net bowler, who impressed everyone by performing brilliantly in the T20 series against Australia.

Umesh Yadav Ruled out of Test Series

Umesh Yadav sustained a strain in his left calf muscle on Day 3 of the second Border-Gavaskar Test in Melbourne.

After this he has been scanned which found that he is unlikely to recover immediately and he will not be able to play the next two matches.

Natarajan included in Test Squad

After this, the National Selection Committee decided that Tamil Nadu fast bowler T Natarajan will be included in the team in place of Umesh Yadav.

Earlier, before the Boxing Day Test, Shardul Thakur was included in the squad in place of Mohammed Shami. Both Umesh and Shami will undergo rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore.

Rohit Sharma appointed Vice Captain

On the other hand, Rohit Sharma has completed his 14-day separation and joined the team and is almost certain to take the field for the third Test to be held in Sydney.

He has been named the vice-captain of the team by the BCCI. Pujara was given this responsibility in the absence of Melbourne Test.

Mayank Agarwal and Rohit Sharma should open in Sydney Test: Sunil Gavaskar

Former Team India captain Sunil Gavaskar believes that Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal should start the innings in Sydney.

Rohit’s return is an encouraging thing for the visiting team. However, the dilemma of choosing his playing eleven has also arisen in front of the team.

Gavaskar feels that after Rohit’s arrival, Shubman Gill should play number three and Hanuma Vihari should be dropped from the third Test squad.

He said, “I will get Rohit and Mayank to start the innings and give Gill an opportunity to bat in the middle order.” With this, I will drop Hanuma Vihari from the team for the third Test.

It is to be noted that both Mayank and Vihari have failed to live up to the expectations but Gavaskar preferred Agarwal over Vihari.

In the current series, where Aggarwal has scored 31 runs in four innings, Vihari has contributed 45 runs in three innings.

The former captain also praised Ajinkya Rahane for his brilliant century. He said that it would be one of the most important centuries in the history of Indian cricket.

Team India:

Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), Jaspreet Bumrah, Navdeep Saini. , Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan.

For latest Cricket updates, follow us FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

BBL 2020-21, Match Schedules | Squad | New Rule | Prize Money
Australia Vs India Match Schedule | Updated Squad | Venue
Umesh Yadav Out of Third Test Match


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here